Vous avez le
pouvoir de changer
son avenir

3X Your Impact by December 31

Now through midnight on December 31, all gifts will be matched THREE TIMES thanks to the Davidson family and a group of generous donors who want the very best for boys like Emery. Just imagine, your $50 gift transforms into a remarkable $150, bringing us one step closer to finding a cure for this life-shortening disease.

Why give?

Because in the blink of an eye, your life can change…

…changeant pour toujours le cours de ce que l’avenir vous réserve. Vous comprenez le lien profond qui unit les parents à leurs enfants et à leurs rêves d’un avenir radieux et épanouissant. Malheureusement, un diagnostic de dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne peut soudainement jeter sur le tableau un nuage sombre, privant les familles de leur vision de ce qui les attend.

Un diagnostic de la maladie de Duchenne signifie un changement complet de vie pour l’enfant et sa famille. Pourtant, quelque part dans cette nouvelle réalité, nous apprenons à respirer à nouveau parce qu’il y a de l’espoir. Cet espoir se trouve en vous. Chaque don compte, qu’il soit petit ou grand, et le vôtre sauve la vie de garçons et de jeunes hommes comme Emery.

À l’âge de quatre ans, Emery a subi une rupture de l’appendice. C’est là qu’on a découvert que ses retards de développement n’étaient pas attribuables à des problèmes de motricité globale. Au lieu de cela, le taux de créatine d’Emery a explosé et des tests génétiques ont rapidement révélé que son petit corps menait un combat acharné contre cette forme rare et mortelle de dystrophie musculaire…

Your donation will be matched dollar-for-dollar (up to $95,000) thanks to a loving group of donors like you, who will not rest until every child can live freely, fully, and uninhibited by this progressive, fatal muscle-wasting disease.

Meet Emery

Vous est-il déjà arrivé de vous réveiller le matin et de voir votre vie évoluer d’une certaine manière, puis, l’après-midi, de la voir changer du tout au tout? C’est l’expérience de chaque famille qui affronte la maladie de Duchenne. Vous pensez que cette chose qui change la vie ne vous arrivera jamais, et puis elle arrive.

Il nous a fallu beaucoup, beaucoup de temps avant de pouvoir respirer. Les premières années, nous avions l’impression que la science avançait plus lentement que la maladie d’Emery. Vous voyez, la maladie de Duchenne est une maladie d’anticipation. On nous avait parlé de la détérioration musculaire qui se produirait dans le corps d’Emery, et bien que les progrès soient différents pour chaque enfant, le temps se traduit en muscles pour tous nos garçons.

Mais au fur et à mesure que le temps passait, notre espoir grandissait. Nous avons eu l’impression que sa vie ne serait pas aussi courte ou limitée qu’on nous l’avait dit au départ. Grâce aux recherches en cours, les scientifiques et les professionnels de la santé continuent de découvrir de nouvelles informations. Ils mettent au point des thérapies innovantes pour transformer la vie d’enfants comme mon fils. Notre espoir est toujours bien vivant.

Cependant, nous savons que les traitements transformateurs ne sont possibles qu’au prix d’investissements financiers considérables, et qu’un nouveau médicament nécessite des essais cliniques pour s’assurer qu’il est sûr et efficace. Nos garçons et leurs familles doivent décider s’ils veulent faire face aux risques, aux contraintes financières et temporelles et à l’incertitude liés à la participation à un essai clinique.

Emery, et notre famille, avons réfléchi intensément pour déterminer ce qui semblait « juste ». Au fond de moi, je sais que participer à un essai clinique est un geste incroyablement généreux. Emery a réalisé deux essais cliniques : l’un axé sur la réparation et la régénération des muscles et la réduction de l’inflammation, et l’autre sur la santé des os. Il a également participé à d’innombrables études.

Untitled design - 2023-11-08T153450.654

En participant à ces essais, ses fractures par compression ont guéri, sa solidité osseuse s’est améliorée et il s’épanouit à bien des égards. Nous voyons et ressentons directement l’impact de la recherche, une recherche soutenue par les donateurs et les sympathisants de Vaincre Duchenne Canada.

Emery a maintenant 16 ans et est en 11e année. Nous commençons chaque journée en ressentant de la gratitude pour tous les efforts déployés afin qu’il réussisse vraiment, vraiment bien. Contre toute attente, il a le dos droit, marche les pieds plats, porte ses orthèses cheville-pied (des attelles qui soutiennent la structure de ses jambes et de ses pieds) toutes les nuits et prend ses médicaments… tellement de médicaments!

La recherche a le potentiel d’apporter des changements transformateurs, non seulement en développant de nouveaux traitements pour divers diagnostics, mais aussi en faisant progresser les technologies qui peuvent améliorer la vie des personnes souffrant de handicaps moteurs, de difficultés d’apprentissage, de problèmes respiratoires et de bien d’autres conditions. En investissant dans la recherche, nous pouvons découvrir des solutions innovantes qui permettent aux gens de mener une vie plus épanouie et plus utile, quels que soient les défis auxquels ils sont confrontés.

Dès que nous avons reçu ce diagnostic, mon quotidien est devenu et continue d’être totalement imprévisible. Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour faire d’aujourd’hui une bonne journée et nous espérons que demain sera le meilleur possible.

La recherche est notre espoir. Et c’est pourquoi VOUS êtes si important. Sans vous, la recherche est une idée plutôt qu’une réalité.

C’est peut-être mon fils ou le fils de quelqu’un d’autre qui vous motive à faire un don à la recherche sur la maladie de Duchenne. C’est peut-être aussi la peur d’être soi-même confronté à un problème de cette ampleur ou l’espoir d’améliorer la vie de quelqu’un d’autre et de la société. Quelle que soit votre motivation, j’espère que vous ressentirez l’impact de votre don sur Emery et ma famille. Vos dons permettent à Emery de garder un pas vif (mental et physique), de jouer, d’apprendre, de grandir et de vivre sa meilleure vie possible.

 

Du fond du cœur, nous vous remercions d’avoir fait un don aujourd’hui.

Kadey and Emery

 

If you believe our boys deserve a fighting chance, please donate now.

You have the
power to change
his tomorrow

3X Your Impact by December 31

Now through midnight on December 31, all gifts will be matched THREE TIMES thanks to the Davidson family and a group of generous donors who want the very best for boys like Emery. Just imagine, your $50 gift transforms into a remarkable $150, bringing us one step closer to finding a cure for this life-shortening disease.

Why give?

Because in the blink of an eye, your life can change…

…forever altering the course of what the future holds. You understand the deep bond between parents and their children and their dreams for a bright and fulfilling future. Unfortunately, a diagnosis of Duchenne muscular dystrophy can suddenly cast a dark cloud, robbing families of their vision of what lies ahead.

A diagnosis of Duchenne signals a complete change of life for the child and their family. Yet somewhere in this new reality, we learn to breathe again because there is hope – and that hope lies within you. Every dollar counts, big or small, and your donation saves the lives of boys and young men like Emery.

When Emery was four years old and suffered a burst appendix, it was discovered that his developmental delays weren’t due to gross motor issues. Instead, Emery’s creatine levels were through the roof, and genetic testing soon revealed his little body was fighting a raging battle against this rare and life-limiting form of muscular dystrophy…

Your donation will be matched dollar-for-dollar (up to $95,000) thanks to a loving group of donors like you, who will not rest until every child can live freely, fully, and uninhibited by this progressive, fatal muscle-wasting disease.

Meet Emery

“Have you ever woken up in the morning and your life is one way, then, by the afternoon, it is entirely different? This is the experience of every Duchenne family. You think this life-altering thing will never happen to you, and then it does.

It took a long, long time before we could breathe. The first few years felt like science moved slower than Emery’s disease. You see, Duchenne is a disease of anticipation. We were told about the muscle deterioration that would happen to Emery’s body, and though the progress is different for each child, time is muscle for all our boys.

But as time passed, our hope increased. We felt that life for him would not be as short or limited as we were initially told. With ongoing research, scientists and medical professionals continue to uncover new insights. They are developing innovative therapies to transform the lives of children like my son, so our hope continues to float.

However, we know that transformative treatments only happen with incredible financial investment, and a new drug requires clinical trials to ensure the medication is safe and effective. Our boys and their families must decide if they want to face the risks, financial and time constraints, and uncertainty of being part of a clinical trial.

Emery and our family dug deep to determine what felt “right.” In my heart, I know participating in a clinical trial is incredibly selfless. Emery has done two clinical trials: one focused on muscle repair, regeneration, and reduction of inflammation and a bone health trial. He has also participated in countless studies.

Untitled design - 2023-11-08T153450.654

By participating in these trials, his compression fractures have healed, his bone strength has improved, and he is thriving in many ways. We see and feel the impact of research firsthand – research supported by donors and supporters of Defeat Duchenne Canada.

Emery is now 16 and in grade 11. We start every day feeling gratitude for all the effort that is supporting him to do really, really well. Against the odds, he has a straight back, walks flatfooted, wears his AFOs (splints that support the structure of his legs and feet) every night, and takes his medicine – so much medicine!

Research holds the potential to bring about transformative changes, not only in developing new treatments for various diagnoses but also in advancing technology that can enhance the lives of individuals with mobility impairments, learning difficulties, breathing issues, and many other conditions. By investing in research, we can uncover innovative solutions that enable people to live fuller, purposeful lives, irrespective of their unique challenges.

As soon as we got this diagnosis, my today became and continues to be completely unpredictable. We pour everything into making today a good day and hope tomorrow will be the best it can be.

Research is our hope. And this is why YOU are so important. Without you, research is a thought rather than a reality.

Your motivation to give to Duchenne research can be my son or someone else’s. It may be the fear you may deal with something of this magnitude yourself or the hope to make life better for someone else and society. Whatever your motivation, I hope you feel the impact of your donation on Emery and my family. Your gifts helps Emery keep a bounce in his step (mentally and physically), helps him play, learn, grow, and live his best life.”

 

From the bottom of our hearts – thank you for giving today,

Kadey and Emery

 

If you believe our boys deserve a fighting chance, please donate now.