Skip to content

La dystrophie de Duchenne affecte chaque personne différemment, même entre frères. En raison de la nature de la maladie, on distingue les phases de la dystrophie de Duchenne depuis le diagnostic jusqu’à l’âge adulte. Chacune des phases de la dystrophie de Duchenne s’accompagne de défis particuliers pour vous et votre enfant, mais plus vous en saurez et mieux vous pourrez faire face à la situation.

Voici certaines des expériences communes aux quatre phases de la dystrophie de Duchenne. Nous espérons qu’une compréhension de la manière dont chaque phase de la dystrophie de Duchenne peut affecter votre famille, vous pourrez commencer à anticiper vos besoins et trouver du réconfort en sachant qu’il existe de l’aide pour faciliter la transition de votre enfant vers chacune de ces étapes. Avec une attitude proactive, vous pouvez anticiper ce qui est prévisible et vous préparer à l’inattendu. Cheminez à votre rythme; il n’est pas nécessaire d’acquérir une expertise sur tout ce qui concerne la dystrophie de Duchenne. Votre équipe de spécialistes neuromusculaires et Vaincre Duchenne Canada sont là pour vous guider.

Phase présymptomatique (naissance/petite enfance)

Photo of Duchenne ambassador family - the Prendergasts

Un diagnostic de dystrophie de Duchenne peut tomber par hasard si votre enfant reçoit des soins médicaux pour une autre raison et qu’un taux élevé de créatine kinase (CK) est détecté. Sinon, la maladie peut être découverte parce qu’il existe des antécédents familiaux. Si l’une ou l’autre de ces situations est à l’origine du diagnostic, il se peut que votre enfant ne présente aucun symptôme de dystrophie de Duchenne ou que vous commenciez seulement à remarquer des signes subtils tels qu’un retard dans certaines étapes de son développement par rapport à son âge, comme se retourner, ramper ou marcher.

Quel que soit le degré d’évidence des symptômes, il est important de prendre contact avec une équipe de soins pour procéder à un examen médical complet. Chercher de l’information et du soutien est également très important à ce stade, mais il vaut mieux éviter de passer trop de temps à consulter des sources non vérifiées sur Internet. Ne cherchez de l’information que sur des sites fiables, cheminez à votre rythme et prenez le temps d’assimiler ce que vous lisez. Rassemblez une équipe de soutien et maintenez des relations étroites avec celle-ci. Ces gens seront d’importantes ressources pour vous et votre famille tout au long de votre cheminement face à la dystrophie de Duchenne.

Diagnostic (petite enfance/enfance)

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Deccan

L’âge moyen des enfants qui reçoivent un diagnostic de dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne est d’environ quatre ans. Avant cette phase, il se peut qu’un enfant ne présente que très peu de symptômes et, lorsqu’il n’y a aucun antécédent familial, ceux-ci peuvent passent inaperçus pour les parents. Cependant, à un certain point, les parents commenceront peut-être à remarquer que leur enfant a du mal à suivre ses compagnons sur le plan de la mobilité et des autres étapes de son développement.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur les signes et les symptômes de la dystrophie de Duchenne.

Avant de recevoir leur diagnostic, les enfants atteints de dystrophie de Duchenne peuvent accuser du retard à certaines étapes de leur développement par rapport à leur âge. Toutefois, il est possible qu’ils rattrapent ce retard avant que cela ne devienne trop préoccupant et c’est pourquoi le diagnostic prend souvent quelques années à établir. Sachant que des retards chez un enfant peuvent être le symptôme de quelque chose de plus grave qu’un rythme de développement particulier, il est important de demander un test chaque fois que vous avez un doute que quelque chose ne va pas. De cette façon, vous pourrez obtenir un diagnostic précis aussitôt que possible et établir le contact avec votre équipe de soins qui mettra en place un plan d’intervention pour votre enfant et apportera à votre famille le soutien dont elle aura besoin.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur la manière dont la dystrophie de Duchenne est diagnostiquée.

Lorsque votre enfant aura reçu un diagnostic de dystrophie de Duchenne, vous rencontrerez probablement un conseiller génétique ainsi que votre équipe de soins multidisciplinaire pour procéder à des examens préliminaires et, éventuellement, entreprendre une intervention selon les besoins. Votre équipe de spécialistes neuromusculaires vous parlera d’importantes questions de sécurité médicale concernant, notamment, la rhabdomyolyse (myoglobinurie), le dosage de stress – en cas de prise de stéroïdes – et le syndrome d’embolie graisseuse. Prenez la peine de poser des questions et de comprendre ce dont il s’agit et ce qu’il faut faire si vous soupçonnez l’une de ces situations. Votre clinique devrait vous fournir des documents à rapporter à la maison. Vous trouverez ci-dessous de nombreuses ressources intéressantes accessibles en ligne. Les spécialistes recommanderont également que votre enfant porte un bracelet d’alerte médicale comportant les renseignements suivants :

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur les stéroïdes et les procédures de soins d’urgence.

Il s’agit d’un moment bouleversant et il peut être préférable que quelqu’un vous accompagne à tous vos rendez-vous pour prendre des notes et vous aider à porter le poids de toute cette information. Faites preuve d’indulgence envers vous-même et sachez qu’il est tout à fait normal de ressentir de très fortes émotions. C’est le moment idéal pour entrer en contact avec d’autres familles et organisations de patients comme Vaincre Duchenne Canada, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy (PPMD), et Dystrophie musculaire Canada (DMC). Ces organismes proposent tous d’excellentes ressources pour vous guider tout au long de votre cheminement et vous aider à expliquer le diagnostic à votre famille, à vos amis et à l’école de votre enfant.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur le diagnostic et la prise en charge de la dystrophie de Duchenne.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur les ressources relatives au cheminement scolaire à l’école primaire et en classe.

Enfance/stade ambulatoire précoce

Photo of Duchenne ambassador family - Mittons

L’enfance est une période de croissance physique, cognitive et émotionnelle rapide. C’est à ce stade que vous pourriez remarquer que votre enfant éprouve de la difficulté à suivre ses compagnons dans certaines activités. Il peut se fatiguer facilement, avoir des difficultés à sauter et tomber fréquemment en raison d’un mauvais équilibre. Même s’il souhaite participer et « suivre le rythme », la sécurité de votre enfant est primordiale et votre équipe de spécialistes neuromusculaires vous donnera les conseils et le soutien dont vous aurez besoin pour assurer la sécurité de votre enfant.

Durant cette période, vous pourriez également remarquer une certaine faiblesse musculaire se manifestant par la manière dont votre enfant marche ou bouge. Il est possible qu’il développe un dandinement (balancement des hanches) et qu’il adopte la manœuvre de Gowers pour se lever depuis une position couchée ou assise. Cette manœuvre fait référence au moment où un enfant appuie ses mains sur ses jambes pour se relever. Chez certains patients, c’est également le moment où les muscles du mollet commencent à prendre de plus en plus de volume. Ce phénomène fréquent lié à la dystrophie de Duchenne se nomme « pseudohypertrophie ».

À ce stade, il sera important que votre enfant soit évalué par votre équipe de réadaptation. Ces spécialistes vous parleront des activités auxquelles votre enfant peut participer en toute sécurité. De plus, ils vous conseilleront quant aux stratégies pour aider votre enfant à trouver un équilibre entre l’exercice et la conservation de son énergie. Les étirements sont importants à tout âge pour aider à maintenir les fonctions et prévenir les contractures, c’est-à-dire un raccourcissement des muscles et des tendons qui restreint les mouvements. Plus tôt ces éléments seront intégrés à votre routine hebdomadaire et plus il sera facile de les maintenir au fil du temps. L’organisme PPMD propose d’excellentes vidéos et ressources sur les étirements (en anglais) : série d’archives de physiothérapie – Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy (parentprojectmd.org)

Si votre enfant a commencé le traitement de ses symptômes avec des stéroïdes, la gestion de sa nutrition sera importante ainsi qu’une supplémentation en vitamine D et en calcium. Votre équipe de soins vous parlera des précautions à observer avec la prise de stéroïdes. N’oubliez pas de suivre les indications de votre médecin et ne jamais arrêter de prendre des médicaments sans recevoir un conseil explicite au préalable.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur les stéroïdes et les procédures de soins d’urgence.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur le cheminement scolaire à la fin de l’enfance.

Fin de l’enfance/adolescence/jeune adulte/stade ambulatoire avancé

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Emery

During the late ambulatory stage, your child may be experiencing a great deal of fatigue when walking long distances or engaging in physical activities such as climbing the stairs. This may be the point in time when your family begins to think about the use of a scooter or manual or electric wheelchair. Prior to that, you may notice their balance continues to become a challenge alongside their gate (the way they walk), as their body struggles to overcompensate for muscle weakness. As your young adult requires more support to get around, it will be very important to educate all those involved in their care at school and those they may interact with throughout the community.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur la navigation scolaire à la fin de l'adolescence et à l'âge adulte.

À ce stade, il est très probable que votre enfant prenne déjà des stéroïdes depuis longtemps et il est donc important de surveiller les effets secondaires associés et de demander des soins si nécessaire. La gestion du poids et la nutrition continueront d’être très aspects très importants pour les utilisateurs de stéroïdes. Consultez les ressources publiées ci-dessus concernant les stéroïdes pour vous familiariser avec les procédures de soins d’urgence.

During early adolescence, your child should be monitored regularly for bone health, delay in puberty, lung and heart function. Teenagers should be encouraged to start to take an active role in the management of their own care in preparation for transition to adult care.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la transition vers les soins pour adultes en regardant notre webinaire ci-dessous.

Adolescence/jeune adulte/stade non ambulatoire précoce

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Errict

Lorsque votre enfant atteindra ce stade, il devra faire face à tous les hauts et les bas habituels de l’adolescence en plus des complexités de la dystrophie de Duchenne. Vous serez à la recherche d’un équilibre entre l’indépendance de l’adolescent et la garantie que votre enfant évolue dans son environnement en toute sécurité. De plus, votre adolescent devra connaître la manière d’utiliser efficacement l’équipement qui contribue à sa mobilité. Il arrive parfois que ce soit difficile émotionnellement et financièrement pour l’ensemble de la famille. Sachez que nous serons là pour vous aider dans cette nouvelle réalité et nous pourrons vous mettre en contact avec d’autres familles ou des ressources pour aider à ce que votre transition soit une expérience positive pour tout le monde.

Si votre fils ne marche plus de manière autonome, vous devrez faire attention à la scoliose. C’est un aspect que votre équipe de soins surveillera de plus près. Le soutien musculaire et articulaire restera une priorité tout au long de cette étape et le physiothérapeute de votre enfant ainsi que les spécialistes respiratoires et cardiaques joueront un rôle central quant aux soins et traitements suivis. Votre équipe de soins travaillera de concert avec vous pour élaborer des stratégies afin d’aider votre enfant à conserver son énergie et encourager le maintien de sa fonction musculaire.

Votre adolescent poursuivra son traitement aux stéroïdes et devra être surveillé pour l’ostéoporose ainsi que pour les retards de croissance et les perturbations hormonales qui affectent la puberté. Ce sont malheureusement des effets secondaires à l’utilisation prolongée de stéroïdes, mais votre équipe de soins vous aidera à les gérer. Votre fils sera dirigé vers un endocrinologue pour que cet aspect de ses soins soit surveillé et traité, au besoin.

Si ce n’est pas encore fait, ce sera le moment de préparer la transition vers les soins pour adultes avec votre équipe. Plus tôt commencera le processus et meilleure sera la préparation aux différences entre les soins pour adultes et les soins pédiatriques. Il n’est jamais trop tôt pour encourager votre fils à assumer davantage la responsabilité de ses propres soins.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger la boîte à outils de transition.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger la liste de vérification de transition.

Âge adulte/stade non ambulatoire avancé

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Douglas

Une équipe de soins généraux peut vous aider à conserver une bonne santé, votre indépendance et un mode de vie aussi actif que vous l’espérez pour l’âge adulte. Participer à la vie sociale et à la collectivité ainsi qu’obtenir et conserver un emploi sont des aspects importants. Votre équipe de soins pour adultes peut vous aider, quelles que soient les sphères d’intérêt que vous souhaitez poursuivre. La surveillance continue de votre santé cardiaque, pulmonaire osseuse, digestive et mentale sera gérée par vos nouveaux spécialistes en soins pour adultes. Cela demandera de la coordination de votre part et vous devrez prendre le contrôle de vos propres soins. Il faudra des ajustements au fur et à mesure que vous développerez des relations avec vos nouvelles équipes de soins. Cependant, il existe de nombreuses ressources et organisations de patients pour vous aider à rester positif et à vivre pleinement.

Regardez nos webinaires et nos vidéos présentant les témoignages de jeunes hommes atteints de dystrophie de Duchenne :

Skip to content

Duchenne affects every person differently, even between siblings. Due to the nature of the disorder, Duchenne is talked about in phases – from diagnosis through to adulthood. With each new phase of Duchenne comes unique challenges for you and your child, but the more you know, the more readily able you will be to tackle whatever comes your way.

Below, we look at some of the experiences common with the four stages of Duchenne. We hope that by understanding how each phase of Duchenne may affect your family, you can start to anticipate your needs and find comfort knowing there are supports available to ease your child’s transition through each of the stages. By being proactive, you can plan ahead for the expected and be ready for the unexpected. Go at your own pace, you do not need to be the expert in everything Duchenne. Your neuromuscular team and Defeat Duchenne Canada are here to help guide your way.

Pre-symptomatic (Birth/Infancy)

Photo of Duchenne ambassador family - the Prendergasts

A diagnosis of Duchenne may occur by chance if your child is receiving medical attention for another reason and an elevated Creatine Kinase (CK) is found. Or, it may be uncovered if there is a family history of Duchenne. If either of these incidents are what lead to the diagnosis, your child may not be experiencing any symptoms of Duchenne or you may only be starting to notice subtle signs such as a delay in age-appropriate milestones like turning over, crawling or walking.

Regardless of how obvious the symptoms are, it is important that you connect with your care team for your child’s full medical exam. Seeking out education and support is also critical at this stage, but try to limit time looking online at unverified sources. Only seek out information from reputable sites, go at your own pace and take time to digest what you are reading. Set up your support team and continue to nurture those close relationships. These individuals will be important for you and your family as you navigate your journey with Duchenne.

Diagnosis (Infancy/Childhood)

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Deccan

The average age of diagnosis for Duchenne muscular dystrophy is around four years old. Prior to this stage, a child may exhibit very few symptoms, and without any family history they may go unnoticed by their parents. However, there may come a time when parents start to realize their child is having difficulty keeping up with their peers, in terms of mobility and other developmental milestones.

Click here to learn more about the signs and symptoms of Duchenne.

Leading up to their diagnosis, children with Duchenne may show signs of delay in age-appropriate milestones. However, they may catch up before the delays become a significant concern, which is why a diagnosis often takes a few years. Knowing that delays can be the symptom of something more serious than a child’s unique pace of development means it’s important to seek testing whenever you have the gut feeling something may not be quite right. That way, you can get an accurate diagnosis as soon as possible and connect with your care team who will start your child’s care plan and provide your family with the supports you will need.

Click here to learn more about how Duchenne is diagnosed.

Once your child has received their Duchenne diagnosis, you will likely both undergo genetic counselling, meet with your multidisciplinary care team for initial assessments and possibly begin interventions if needed. Your neuromuscular team will talk to you about important medical safety information, such as Rhabdomyolysis (myoglobinuria), stress dosing if you are taking steroids and fat embolism syndrome. Make sure you ask questions and understand what these are and what to do if you suspect any of these. Your clinic should provide you with handouts to take home. There are also many great resources to access online provided below. They will also recommend your child obtains a medical alert bracelet with the following information:

Click here to learn more about steroid emergency care procedures.

This time can be very overwhelming for families, so it might help to bring someone with you to all your appointments to take notes and help you carry the load of the information. Be kind to yourself and understand you may have a lot of big feelings to cope with, and that is totally normal. This is a great time to connect with other families and patient organizations like Defeat Duchenne Canada, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy (PPMD), and Muscular Dystrophy Canada (MDC). They all have excellent resources to help guide you through your journey and help you communicate your diagnosis with family, friends and school.

Click here to learn more about the diagnosis and management of Duchenne muscular dystrophy.

Click here to more about navigating elementary school and classroom resources.

Childhood/Early Ambulatory

Photo of Duchenne ambassador family - Mittons

Childhood is a time of rapid physical, cognitive and emotional growth. This is the stage when you may start to notice your child is having difficulty keeping up with their peers in some activities. They may tire easily, have difficulty jumping and fall frequently due to poor balance. While they will want to be busy and “keep up”, your child’s safety is paramount, and your neuromuscular team will give you the advice and support you will need to keep your child safe.

During this time, you may also notice some muscle weakness, which presents itself in the way your child walks or moves. They may start to develop a waddle (swinging of the hips) and use the Gower’s Maneuver to stand up from a lying or seated position. This maneuver refers to when a child moves their hands up their legs for support when standing. For some Duchenne patients, this is also when their calf muscles become increasingly enlarged. The term for this common Duchenne phenomenon is pseudohypertrophy.

At this stage, it will be important for your child to be evaluated by your rehabilitation team. These specialists will talk to you about the activities that are safe for your child to partake in. Additionally, they will advise you on strategies to help your child find a balance between exercise and energy conservation. Stretching is important at all ages to help maintain function and prevent contractures, which is the shortening of the muscles and tendons that restricts movement. The earlier you introduce this into your weekly routine, the easier it will be to maintain as time progresses. PPMD has some great stretching videos and resources go to: Physical Therapy Series Archives – Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy (parentprojectmd.org).

If your child has started treating their Duchenne symptoms with steroids, nutrition management will be important as well as supplementation with vitamin D and calcium. Your care team will talk to you about any precautions you will need to take while on steroids. Remember to follow your doctor’s instructions and never stop taking medication without their explicit advice.

Click here to learn more about steroid and emergency care procedures.

Click her to learn more about navigating school in late childhood.

Late Childhood/Adolescence/Young Adult/Late Ambulatory

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Emery

During the late ambulatory stage, your child may be experiencing a great deal of fatigue when walking long distances or engaging in physical activities such as climbing the stairs. This may be the point in time when your family begins to think about the use of a scooter or manual or electric wheelchair. Prior to that, you may notice their balance continues to become a challenge alongside their gate (the way they walk), as their body struggles to overcompensate for muscle weakness. As your young adult requires more support to get around, it will be very important to educate all those involved in their care at school and those they may interact with throughout the community.

Click here to learn more about navigating school in late adolescence and adulthood.

At this stage, there is a very high likelihood your child has already been using steroids for an extended period of time, so it’s important to look out for the associated side effects and seek care if necessary. Weight management and nutrition will continue to be very important for steroid users. Please visit the steroid resources posted above and familiarize yourself with the emergency care procedures.

During early adolescence, your child should be monitored regularly for bone health, delay in puberty, lung and heart function. Teenagers should be encouraged to start to take an active role in the management of their own care in preparation for transition to adult care.

Learn more about the transition to adult care by watching our webinar below.

Adolescence/Young Adult/Early Non-Ambulatory

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Errict

When your child reaches this stage, they will be dealing with all the normal ups and downs of adolescence, while also navigating the added complexities of Duchenne. You will find yourself searching for that balance between teenage independence and ensuring your child is safely navigating their environment. Additionally, your teenager will need to know how to effectively use whichever equipment is supporting their mobility. At times, this can be emotionally and financially difficult for the entire family. Please know, we are here to support you through this new territory and can connect you with other families or resources to help your transition be a positive experience for everyone.

If your son is no longer walking independently, you will want to be mindful of scoliosis and this is something you care team will be monitoring more closely. Muscle and joint support will remain paramount throughout this stage, and your child’s physical therapist, respiratory and cardiac specialists will play a pivotal role in their ongoing care and treatment. Your care team will work with you to develop strategies to help with energy conservation and to encourage the maintenance of muscle function.

Your teenager will be continuing their steroid treatment and will need to be monitored for osteoporosis as well as delayed growth and hormonal disruptions that affect puberty. These are unfortunate side effects of long-term use of steroids, but your care team will help you manage them. Your son will be referred to an endocrinologist to have these aspects of his care monitored and, if necessary, treated.

If you have not already, now is the time to work with your care team to start the transition to adult care. The earlier you start this process, the more prepared you will be for the differences between adult and paediatric care. It is never too early to encourage your son to take on more responsibility for his own care.

Click here to download the transition toolkit.

Click here to download the transition checklist.

Adulthood/Late Non-Ambulatory

Photo of Duchenne ambassador - Douglas

A comprehensive care team can help you stay healthy, independent and as active as you hope to be in adulthood. Participation in the community, social life and getting and keeping a job are important. Your adult care team can help support you in whatever interests you may want to pursue. Continued monitoring of your heart, lungs, bone health, digestive systems and mental health will be managed by your new adult specialists. This will take coordination on your part, and you will need to take control of the management of your own care. There will be some adjustments as you develop relationships with your new care teams. However, there are many resources and patient organizations out there to support you to remain positive and live fully.

Watch some of our webinars and testimonial videos of young men with Duchenne: